Stuff I Find In My In-Box: #1 – (A Good Idea For Conversation Starters)

Something To Get Them All Talking


In my teaching career, I have not had a lot of experience teaching children.  It thought it would be great.  Mostly because I kind of still am one.Conversation - theTOEFLblog

I love kids, but I didn’t do too well as a teacher of them…  I’m better as the crazy “uncle” (meaning the good friend of their dad.)

However, while skimming through an article sent to me by BusyTeacher, I noticed this little gem below:


(Copied from the original article)

Strange Conversation Starters

This activity is more like a warm-up, but could be done extensively as well.  This activity can be frontal and cooperative too.

Prepare some strange conversation starters and give one to a student who should start a conversation with it…

The more surprising the starter is the better.  Here are some examples:

  • Excuse me, but what’s your car doing in my pool?
  • Congratulations! I heard you hit the lottery jackpot!
  • Wow! It’s your baby? She’s very cute.

via Monster University, The Curious Alien, And 3 Other Brilliant Communicative Activities Your Students Will Love.

(end of the copy)


It was the first example that got my attention, as I often try to convince my students that I’m actually a bit crazy (something that is not too difficult) – so I would probably add a number of others, more similar to that.  And, as I teach adults, maybe the “Baby” example isn’t the best, but I can see how it would get a great laugh from children.


 “Sharing Is Caring”


At least that’s how the old saying goes (probably not a good idea with head-lice.)  But I thought I would pass on this little nugget of helpful classroom “fun-making” to anyone else who might find the suggestion above useful.

As the author says, “it can be done extensively as well…”

…I guess that means, you can use your imagination and do whatever the heck you want with it (always a welcome idea in my mind.)

I’m not really sure what the author means by saying, that it can be “frontal”.  And when the author says that it can be “cooperative”, I’m guessing that means the other person in the conversation gets to speak too…

I don’t know, I imagine that those are bits of “Teacher Jargon” (something I tend to shy away from) but I really like the idea so I’m happy to “share the love” and I hope that you will do the same.


Have An Excellent Day!

😉

Leave a Reply

